Book Swappin’ Time

book swap reveal

I love mail. Obviously.

And I really do enjoy reading, even though I don’t make much time for it in this phase of life.

This summer, I got to participate in a book swap hosted by Chelsie at Life with Rosie and Ashley at American Honey. I’ve never done one like this before. All participants were paired up, and we sent books to each other vs a random participant. It was a lot of fun getting to virtually meet another blogger and anticipating the arrival of a fun package!

I was paired up with Abby from the blog Winstead Wandering. She and I actually had a few of the same books on our wish lists, so that was cool to see.

But before I could receive my fun package, I needed to put one together for my partner. I think when it comes to gifts and mail, giving really is more fun than receiving for me.

Since I don’t know Abby in real life and only had a couple email exchanges with her, I felt uncomfortable trying to pick out a book she would like that wasn’t already on her book list. I actually bought all three books off of her book list. I wrapped each one (because who doesn’t love to unwrap packages?) and included some fun beach-themed items since it was a “beach reads” swap. It was definitely fun to put together. And I topped it all off by wrapping the outer package. Yep. I’m that person.

BookSwap

BookSwap2

BookSwap3

BookSwap4

When I received my package in the mail, I was so excited that I didn’t even wait to get inside to open it. I was on my way out running errands and just couldn’t wait. At least I remembered to take a couple pictures!

BookSwap9

Abby sent me three books: Bossypants by Tina Fey, Parenting the Wholehearted Child by Jeannie Cunnion, and Wreckage by Emily Bleeker. Bossypants will definitely be my beach read for now. And by beach I mean my patio during the hot summer months with a glass of sweet iced tea and maybe ocean noises on my phone. (What can I say … I’m ten hours from the closest beach. I have to improvise!) It may not be fiction, but it’s lazy reading. And I need something to make me laugh. I’ve gotten through the intro and the first chapter so far. I’m a slow reader in the first place, and being 9 months pregnant and having 2 kiddos under foot makes reading even harder. But it’s very good so far. I’m loving it!

BookSwap6

Overall, it was very cool to participate in this kind of swap. Apparently, swaps are happening all the time, and I’ve just never known about them. And I’m guessing the details of each swap vary based on the host. If you’re a book lover, I definitely recommend giving one a try. Look for one that fits your personality, and give it a go!

3 thoughts on “Book Swappin’ Time

Leave a Reply

