Jumbo Straws

Last week, I took the kids on a day trip to see some friends that we haven’t seen in a while. It was so nice to see them again, and I wanted to send their kids a fun little something in the mail for afterwards.

So … jumbo straws!

JumboStraws

I first used jumbo straws for bubble tea in China over a decade ago, but they’ve since become pretty popular over here, too.

Who doesn’t love these things? You can find them at dollar stores and grocery stores. Use them for drinks, smoothies, milkshakes, bubble tea (obviously), crafts, cat toys (yes, I speak from experience), and a lot more! If using them for beverages, they do require a tad more suction than smaller straws, but it shouldn’t be a problem for anyone over the age of three or four.

And believe it or not, I didn’t even have to wrap them or box them in order to mail them. I added address labels and stamps, taped down both ends, and put it in the mailbox.

JumboStraws2

It’s amazing what you can send through the US postal service. They are pretty generous in what they will accept.

What cool thing are you thinking about mailing?

 

3 thoughts on “Jumbo Straws

  1. I’ve never heard of Jumbo Straws. Where can you buy them? What do you usually use them for? How are they different than regular straws?

    That is pretty neat that the post office doesn’t require those to be boxed in order to mail them! I’d be worried about the package get torn open while in transit though.

    Like

    1. Good thoughts, Hope! Maybe I should go back and add some notes in the post. 🙂
      Package opening is always a risk, even with boxed packages or even letters. Boy, did I see some pretty mangled stuff during my mailroom days! That’s why I go to greater lengths to ensure good shipping. When I taped down the ends, I taped them well. The plastic packaging on these is thin, but I think it will be fine. You should check out some of the other things I’ve mailed … sticker sheets and Little Debbie cakes (only on my Instagram page), facial masks, Peeps. Most things arrive in perfect condition!

      Like

Leave a Reply

