Coffee Postcard

A couple weeks ago, I had the privilege of guest blogging over at Middle Places. (They are awesomely inspirational; I highly recommend you check out the vastness of their blog.) I showed everyone my re-creation of Sandra Denneler’s cake postcards.

IMG_3433

It was a fun project and a fun post. I loved it!

But I had three friends with birthdays on the same day, and the sponge for the project only made two cake slices.

Enter my creative side.

It’s not often that I create something cool like this on my own. I’m really good at following tutorials for projects, but devising them myself just isn’t my forte (yet). But I was feeling so inspired by Sandra, and I needed another cool, 3D birthday postcard to send to my friend.

This friend just happens to be a Starbucks lover. Two summers ago, when she and I still lived in the same city, we went to Starbucks with some other girlfriends once a week. And that tradition kind of carried over into the fall and winter, too. It was great!

And that makes this Starbucks coffee postcard the perfect 3D birthday postcard for her!

Starbucks11

If you’ve seen Sandra’s cake postcard tutorial, you’ll find this similar in a few ways.

1) Gather Supplies. I always advocate for getting everything ready ahead of time. It just makes creating the project so much easier when everything is within arm’s reach.

2) Cut the cup in half, and cut a pool noodle to fit the inside of your half-cup.

Starbucks

Starbucks3

3) Glue the pool noodle into the cup. Trim as needed. Place the cup face down onto the back side of the cardstock and trace the cup to make the postcard. Set the postcard aside.

Starbucks5

Starbucks6

4) Fill all the empty space with caulk. I wanted to use tan caulk for the coffee (the same tan caulk that was used for chocolate icing on the cake), but I didn’t have enough for the entire cup. I had a lot of white caulk, so I used that on the bottom part that wouldn’t be seen.

Starbucks7

5) Smooth out the caulk and make it level with the sides of the cup. This is an important step because you don’t want any empty space inside the cup. Add a dollop of white caulk for whipped cream if you’d like.

Starbucks9

6) Let dry. It took this cup four days to dry well enough for me to feel comfortable moving on with the process. It’s a LOT of caulk, so it will take a long time to dry.

7) Once the caulk is completely dry, glue the postcard onto the back.

Starbucks12

Starbucks14

8) Add a note, address and postage. This cost about $3 to mail. Shipping costs can vary, so take yours to your local post office for accurate pricing.

Starbucks18

9) Delight a friend with a 3D coffee postcard!

Do you know a coffee lover in your life who would be excited to find this in their mailbox? Try it and let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

