Test Mail – facial masks

I’m testing a new piece of mail today. You’ve seen these displays at Walmart before, right?

FaceMaskDisplay2

I love these samples. I love how they’re so inexpensive. They’re an easy way to show love to someone. AND… they’re thin enough, small enough and lightweight enough that they can go as a regular piece of mail.

I took one to the post office, and the mail clerk suggested I send them as non-machinable because of the liquid in them. It’s not enough liquid to warrant becoming a different class of mail, but she didn’t think it would be wise to send them through the postal machines.

So I have my non-machinable labels attached, and I’m using the $.70 stamps instead of the regular $.49 ones.

FaceMasks2

I’ve never mailed them before, so these fun masks are part of a new thing I’m doing called Test Mail.

I’m sending them to four bloggers I’ve recently met who all who live in different areas of the country. When my new friends receive their test mail, they will snap a snazzy picture and tag me on Instagram.

FaceMasks3

 

Want to see how they turn out? Follow me on Instagram!

As a thank you to these new friends for their help, I want to introduce you to them.

Rosemond Cates of Big Hair and Books
Emilie Lima Burke of Emilie Lima Burke
Marissa Giddens of My Old Heart
Ivlyn Valdes of Just Simply Me

Mail Tip: Non-machinable mail is anything that cannot or does not need to go through the postage meters. Anything rigid (mailing something non-bendable, like pictures) or non-rectangular (mailing one of those curvy-shaped facial masks) or not uniformly thick (mailing a pen inside an envelope) falls into this category. You can also mail other things non-machinable if you don’t want to take a chance at the machine ripping the mail piece open. You just need to label it properly and use the correct amount of postage. Anything non-machinable is an additional $.21/piece right now. Important: To ensure that your non-machinable mail gets properly routed and indeed does not face the machines, you should take your mail directly to a mail clerk at the post office counter. Don’t just put it in your mailbox for your mail carrier.

3 thoughts on “Test Mail – facial masks

    1. Thank you, Julie! What a nice compliment. I’ve had the benefit of working in a mail room for a couple years, in addition to having some awesome employees at my local USPS branches who teach me little tidbits here and there. I’m happy to pass them on to others!

      Like

Leave a Reply

